Allegheny County Not Moving Into Green Phase Yet

Governor Wolf held a press conference on Friday to announce county phase updates

Shawn Digity
May 22, 2020 - 4:40 pm
Tom Wolf speaks during a coronavirus briefing on April 1, 2020

Office of the Governor

Related: Report: Areas In Southwest PA Won't Move Into Green Phase

HARRISBURG (Newsradio 1020 KDKA) - Governor Tom Wolf held a press conference on Friday to update the business reopening and county phases.

Earlier reports indicated that Allegheny County and other southwestern Pennsylvania counties would remain in the yellow phase, and that was confirmed by Wolf in the briefing.

Updates across the state were mostly made in eastern counties being added into the yellow stage that were previously in the red.

There were already 49 counties in the yellow phase, and eight more will be added on May 29.

Those counties include Dauphin, Franklin, Huntingdon, Lebanon, Schuylkill, Luzerne, Monroe, and Pike.

Wolf announced that there are plans to introduce the rest of the red counties into the yellow phase by June 5.

Wolf also announced that 17 counties will be moving into the green phase on May 29 but include mostly northern and central counties.

Those counties include Bradford, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango, and Warren. 

Allegheny county will remain in the yellow for the time being.

Listen to KDKA Radio on the RADIO.COM App
Tell your smart speaker to "play News Radio 10 20 KDKA"

Receive email updates from KDKA Radio
Follow KDKA Radio: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram