PA's 37th Senatorial District Voting In Special Election

Voters will elect either Pam Iovino or D. Raja to fill vacant state Senate seat

Shelby Cassesse
April 01, 2019 - 4:15 pm

PITTSBURGH (Newsradio 1020 KDKA) - Residents of Pennsylvania's 37th Senatorial District will head to the polls Tuesday to elect either Democrat Pam Iovino or Republican D. Raja to the state Senate in a special election. 

The vacant seat was left by Guy Reschenthaler, who was sworn into Congress earlier this year. As it stands now, Republicans control the state Senate 26-21. The 37th Senatorial District is one of three current vacancies. 

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., and anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be able to vote.  

The Allegheny County Elections Division is encouraging voters to check their voter registration and their polling places before heading out to cast their ballots.

According to a press release from the county, eight polling places have been changed in Bethel Park, Edgeworth, Moon and Upper St. Clair. Impacted voters have been sent letters advising them of the change, and there will be postings at the former polling places directing voters to the appropriate new locations. 

The 37th Senatorial District consists of portions of northwest Allegheny County and the South Hills, as well as Peters Township in Washington County. For a full list of municipalities, a sample ballot and listing of polling place changes, visit Allegheny County's Special Election webpage.